Fish are friends and food…

Where college life resides in Providence is also where one of the best sushi places is also homed. Over on Wickenden Street in providence is where you will find what in my opinion is the most underrated sushi experience so far to be test tasted by me in Rhode Island thus far. After visiting this establishment for the first time somewhere around two years ago with my aunt, i’ve returned to it multiple times bringing friends along for the foreign food. I’ve watched friends go from not having a clue as to how to “work chopsticks” to looking as if they’ve always had a flawless time with the wooden planks.

The other day for one of my very best friend’s 27th birthday celebrations we found ourself having lunch at a very usual spot for me, a new venture for her. I’d like to believe she enjoyed it. Our orders included California rollEggplant TempuraYam Tempura, and by birthday girl’s special request: a Tempura roll.

California Roll

Have you ever received your order of a roll only to find that the avocado is already browning? This is an experience that I have had far to many times with grocery store sushi! However, the ingredients within Tokyo’s sushi always seem to be prepared fresh with every order. Their California roll however is what I think of as “The old faithful”. Always good no matter how many times you order it. This is a place that just happens to know what they’re doing and how to do it right.

Eggplant Tempura

When I stared out my sushi expeditions I did so with mango and avocado sushi from a place that is now out of business. What I hadn’t expected was for this love to carry to other places. Eggplant and sushi don’t sound like two things that would typically be paired well. However in a pleasant surprise to my thinking the eggplant tempura is one of the best dishes I’ve had from Tokyo. However, there are moments when it is a hit or a miss. This time wasn’t one of the best but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t still very enjoyable. The eggplant is always flavorful and contrasts very nicely to the rice casing around it. Defiantly something that I would suggest to anyone who enjoys both sushi and the vegetable.

Tempura Roll

With a healthy sized portion it was the first time I’d ever tried script tempura and I must say that it was something that I fully intend to perhaps make a regular thing. With crispy coated shrimp is a delectable contrast to the rice and soy sauce combination that coats it. a great and filling choice to accompany any sushi plate.

Yam Tempura 

This might be my favorite option within the menu! If you enjoy sweet potatoes during thanksgiving time than you might just want to consider giving yam tempura a try! Crispy and flavorful, yam tempura has a unique taste to it that tangos with the taste buds and simply can be described as taking like the embodiment of “happy”. This is one bit of sushi that I would suggest to anyone.

As of now, Tokyo is a must stop for sushi! while the atmosphere might not be a whole lot to look at and the servers aren’t very involved in interacting with customers so long as you have good company and are there simply for the food this place is a very good stop for a late afternoon lunch or even a flavorful dinner! Just whatever you do, don’t forget to try the yam tempura! You most certainly will NOT  regret your decisions!

From me, I give Tokyo a B+

Leave a comment